Page images
PDF
EPUB

All that have chambers are obliged to pay for their commons, for a fortnight in every term; and sixteen terms (doing his exercise) qualifies a student for the bar.'

They have a calves head feast here, when the gentlemen of the house give generously to the under servants.

Their armorial ensigns are, azure, a pegasus rising argent. Here is a very neat, pleasant, and very spacious garden and walks, kept in excellent order, adorned with flower pots, greens, a terras, and gravel walks, grass plats, &c. on the banks of the river Thames. .

The King's BENCH WALK forms a large and beautiful oblong square, at the lower end of which is the King's Bench office, where all writs, &c. in that court are filed. A fire having happened in this part of the Temple, and some of the records destroyed ; to prevent injury by similar accidents, the building forms the south side of the square, apart from the other buildings.

The offices belonging to the COURT OF EXCHEQUER, and the PROTHONOTARY of the Common Pleas, are also kept in this square.

Among the eminent persons enducated in the Inner Temple, were the following: Sir THOMAS AUDLEY, lord chancellor, in the reign of Henry VIII. John WHYDDEN, justice of the Common Pleas, in the reign of Mary I. Nicholas HARE, Master of the Rolls, in the same reign. Lord chief justice ANDERSON, in the reign of Elizabeth. ROGER MANWOOD, chief baron, 1573. Sir Julius CÆSAR, (see St. Helen's,) Sir EDWARD COKE, Sir HENEAGE FINCH, earl of AYLESFORD, &c.

The Inner Temple contains the following courts, &c. King's Bench Walk, Tanfield Court, Church Yard Court, Inner Temple Lane, Hare Court, Figtree Court, and Crown Office Row.

Underneath the hall is a passage, under the arcade, to i ST. MARY'S, COMMONLY CALLED THE TEMPLE

CHURCH. THE first building was founded by the Knights Templars, in 1185, and dedicated to the Blessed Virgin ; as

P 2

appears

[ocr errors]

appears by the following inscription, formerly placed over the church door : !

+ ANNO, AB. INCARNATIONE. DOMINI. MC.L.x.x.x.v. DEDICATA. HÆC. ECCLESIA. IN. HONORE. BEATÆ. MARIE. A. DOMINO. ERACLIO. Des. GRATIA: SANCTA. RESURRECTIONIS. ECCLESIE. PATRIARCHA. NII. Idus. FEBRUARIL, Qur. EAM. ANNATIM. PETENTIBUS, DE, INJUNCTA. SIBI PENITENTIA, LX. DIES, INDULSIT.

It was again dedicated in the year 1240, being then, as is supposed, newly erected, and the structure probably the same that is now standing. * ; . i.

The church consisted of a master, and four stipendary priests, with a clerk, whose allowance accrued out of the revenues the hospital of St. John of Jerusalem, in England : : and having narrowly escaped the flames in 1666, it was new beautified, adorned, and the curious waiuscot screen set up; 1682, when Sir Thomas Robinson was treasurer of the Inner Temple, and Sir Francis Withens, treasurer of the Middle Temple. The south west part was rebuilt with stone in 1695, as appears by the following inscription over the door: .

Vetustate Consumptum. Impensis utriusque Societatis Resti. tutun 1695. is

Nichol. Courtney, ?

Rogero Gillingham,

Armig. Thesaur.

. It is built in the antient Gothic stile, the walls are of stone, strengthened with buttresses ; has a treble roof co. vered with lead, and supported with neat pillars of Sussex marble; the floor is paved with black and white marble ; that of the chancel two steps higher thần the middle, and one higher than the side aisles, of which there are five in number, viz. three as usual,-running east and west, a cross aisle near the entrance into the chancel, and another parallel wiih the last, between the west end of the ranges of pews and the screen.

'The Temple church is not only antique, neat in its workmanship, and rich in its materials, but very beautiful in its finishing, qualifications seldom found in one structure, The

su bilm23:0 dl pillars

pillars and foors are not only marble, but the windows are adorned with delicate small columns of the same species of stone. It is well pewed, and wainscoted above eight feet high; the altar-piece is of the same kind of timber, but inuch higher, finely carved and adorned with four pilasters, and between them two columns, with entablature of the Corinthian order; also enrichments of cherubims, a shield, festoon, fruit and leaves, enclosed with handsome rail and banister. The pulpit is also finely carved and veneered, placed near the east end of the middle aisle; the sound board is pendant from the roof of the church; it is enriched with several carved arches, a crown, festoon, cherubims, vases, &c.

The round tower at the west end of the church, is supported by six pillars, coated with oak six feet high, and adorned all round (except the east part) with an upper and lower range of small arches, and blank apertures. .

The screen at the west end of the aisles, is of wainscot, adorned with ten pilasters of the Corinthian order; also three portals and pediments; and the organ gallery over the middle aperture, is supported with two neat Auted columns of the Corinthian order, and adorned with entablature and compass pediment; and also the arms of England, finely carved; the intercolumns are large pånnels in carved frames; and near the pediment on the south side, is an enrichment of cbcrubims, and the carved figure of a Pe. gasus, the badge of the society of the Inner Temple; on and near the pediment on the north side, is an enrichment of cherubims, and the figure of a Holy Lamb, the badge of the society of the Middle Temple ; for though these two houses have but one church, yet they seldom sit promis. cuously there, but the gentlemen of the Inner Temple on the south, and those of the Middle Temple northward from the middle aisle. The organ is an excellent instrument, by father Schmydt, who built that of St. Paul's cathedral.. Sir Jobu Hawkins, in his History of Music, informs us, that there was a contest between Nr. Schmydt and Mr. Harris, respecting the lexcellence of their several instru

ments.

ments, ! 10 decide the matter, jit was ordered by the benchers that the artists should affix an organ at each end of the church; which having been done, lord chancellor Jef. ferys decided in favour of the foreign artist. The discarded organ, by Harris,'»is the fine-toned instrument which graces the parish church of St. Andrew, Holborn,.. : Length of the church from the altar to the screen, eightythree feet; breadth sixty, altitude thirty-four; and that of the round tower at the west end forty-eight feet; its diameter at the floor fifty-one feet; circumference one hundred and șixty feet.

MONUMENTS. On the south side of the altar, a white. marble monument to the memory of JAMES SLOANE, Esq. 1704.

CLEMENT Coke, of Langford, in the county of Derby, Esq. youngest son of Sir Edward Coke, knight, lord chief justice of England; of the honourable society of the Inner Temple, 1629.

Ang LITTLETON, wife of Edward Littleton, Esq. of the Inner Temple, 1623.

Sir JOHN WITHAM, of that family in Yorkshire, baronet, 1689.

On the south side of the chancel, lies in full proportion (on a stone chest) a figure habited, as a bishop, with a crosier staff in his left hand, and a mitre on his head, but neither arms, date, nor name, or other inscription : to the memory of SILVESTER DE EVERDON, bishop of Carlisle, archdeacon of Chester, and lord chancellor of England; bishop from 1246 to 1253.

Sir THOMAS ROBINSON, baronet, treasurer, and prothonotary in the court of Common Pleas, 1683. His monu. ment is on the south side of the church, near the chancel, composed of black and white marble, of the Corinthian order, with enrichments of cherubims, laurel, &c.

Sir WILLIAM MORTON, near the middle of the south of the church, of white marble; with a Latin inscription, implying that he was one of the judges in the court of King's. Bench; a man of learning, piety, and justice, and

a true

[ocr errors]

a true son of the church of England; and a colonel of borse and foot in favour of Charles I. He died 1672.

In another column of the same monument, Here lieth, under the Hopes of a glorious and blessed Resurrection, the Body of the Lady Ann Morton, late Wife of Sit William Morton, Knt. one of his Majesty's Justices of the King's Bench, Daughter and Heir of John Smith of Kidlington in the County of Oxford, Gent. &c.

JOHN DENNE, of the Inner Temple, barrister, 1648. Sir John WILLIAMS. Mrs. MARY GAUDY; her monument is on a pillar, thus inscribed :

In the middle lle of this Church lies buried, the Body of Miss Mary Gaudy, only Daughter of Sir William Gaudy of Westtherling, in the County of Norfolk, Baronet, who died 11th October 1671, aged about 22 Years; whose virtuous and unblamable Conversation here, gave her great Hope, if not Assurance, through the Mercies of God in Christ, to obtain Eternal Life. Her Desire was to be buried here by her 2 Brothers; Basingbúra the eldest died the 23d of Feb. William the 21st, and Fram-" lingham her Couzen the 26th of the same Month, 1660, all within 6 days of each other, of the Small Pos; por could this innocent Virgin escape the same Disease now growing the common Fate of the family. She is lineally descended from Thomas, Gaudy Serjeant at Law, eldest of the 3 Brothers, who were all eminent Lawyers of this honourable Society. This Monument sacred to her memory, was erected by Framlingham Gaudy, Esq. her Uncle and Executor.

This fair young Virgin for a Nuptial Bed
More fit, is lodg'd (sad Fate!) among the Dead,
Storm'd by rough Winds; so falls in all her pride,

The full blown Rose design'd l'adorn a Bride. Str JOHN VAUGHAN, knight, of Troescoed, in the county of Radnor, chief justice of the Common Pleas, at the south end of the screen, 1674. MONUMENTS on the north, or Middle Temple side. JAMES HOWEL, Esq. historiographer lo the king, 1666 * See Vol. I. p. 173.'

THOMAS

chcreen, 167* Middle Temphing, 1666*.

« PreviousContinue »