« PreviousContinue »
THOMAS AGAR, Esq. clerk of the crown, 1673. .
Sir GEORGE TREBY, knight, recorder of London, lord chief justice of the court of Common Pleas, 1700.
EDMUND PLOWDEN, Esq. the learned commentator on the laws, 1584.
Sir WILLIAM Wild, knight and baronet, 1679.
Sir TIMOTHY LITTLETON, knight, one of the barons of the Exchequer, 1679.
MONUMENTS westward of the Screen, under the Round Tower.
ROGER BISHOP, sometime student of the Inner Temple, 1597.
On the south side, a monument in memory of the learned antiquary John Selden, dated 1654.'
ROWLAND JEWKes, one of the executors of the great Selden. This is a handsome white marble monument, adorned with columns entablature, &c. of the Ionic order, enriched wish cherubims, festoons, urn, &ic.
Sir JOHN SYMPSON's monument farther westward from the screen, on the south side. - A neat monument of black and white marble, adorned with two pilasters, entablature, &c. of the Composite orders to the memory of HENRY WYNN, Esq. tenth son of the cleventh son of Sir John Wynn, knight and baronet, of Gwyder, in the county of Carnarvon, 1671.
Sir THOMAS HANMER, knight, solicitor general to queen Catharine, and one of the judges in the sheriff's court, London, 1687.
EDWARD EATON, Esq. 1683, a great ornament to li- • terature.
Sir SAMUEL Baldwyn, knight, serjeant at law, 1683.
Sir John King, knight, 1677. See his character, Granger's
EDMUND GYbbon, Esq. 1677. .
Thomas Heyhoe, Esq. Pope North, Esq. George Cole,
James, Esq. Abel Gower, Esq.
Peter Hony rood, Esq. ilopton Shuter, Esq. John Hare, Esq. Robert Thorn, Esq.
A black marble stone in memory of John White, second son of Henry White, a member of the House of Com: mons, and bencher of the Middle Temple, 1614.
Here lies a John, a burning shining light,
Whose name, life, actions, were alike, all WHITË. Charles Compton, Esq. John Tacham, Esq. Nicholas Hare, Esq. Richard Lemster, 1420.
Edward Osburn; Esq. Richard Norden, Esq. Robert Leventhorpe, Esq. 1426.· Daniel Lisle, Esq.
But this church is most remarkable for the tombs of eleven of the Knights Templers. The figures consist of two groups ; five are cross-legged, and the remainder are straight. In the first groupe are four knights, each crosslegged; and three in complete mail, in plain helmets, flat at the tops, and with very long shields. One of these is Geoffry de Magnaville, earl of Essex, in 1148; the other three are conjectured, by Camden, to be in memory of William, earl of Pembroke, who died in 1219; and his sons William and Gilbert, both earls of Pembroke, and earls marshal of England. One of the stone coffins also, of a ridged shape, is supposed, by the same antiquary, to be the tomb of William Plantagenet, fifth son of Henry III.*
The dress and accoutrements of these knights are very singular : though all clothed in mail, they are varied in dress as well as in position; there is still sufficient expression in the faces to shew that personal resemblance was aimed at, and, in some degree, successfully. One figure is in a spirited attitude, drawing a broad dagger; one leg rests on the tail of a cockatrice, the other is in the action
• Weever mentions a fragment of a funeral inscription, once engrated on one of these monuments, and preserved in manuscript in the Cottonian library, which proves it to have been placed there to the memory of one Robert Rosse (or Roos,) otherwise called Fursan, á Tem: plar, who died about the year 1245, and who gave to his brother Knights his manor of Ribston, in the West Riding of Yorkshire.
Vol. IV. No. 78,
of being drawn up, with the head of the monster beneath. Another is bareheaded and bald, the legs armed, the hands mailed, and the mantle long; round the neck a coul, as though, according to the custom of the times in which he lived, he had desired to be buried in a monastic habit, lest the evil spirit should take possession of the body. On the shield is a fleur de lys *. The earl of Pembroke bears a lion on his shield, the arms of that powerful family. The helmets of all the knights are similar, but two of them are mailed. The figure of these knights are finely engraved and accurately described in “ Gough's Sepulchral Monuments.”
There have been also buried in this church, without me. morial, the following eminent persons:
Dr. LITTLETON, master.
Sir EDMUND SAUNDERS, lord chief justice of the King's Bench, 1683.7
Sir WILLIAM Wren, of the Middle Temple, 1689.
Sir William Dolben, knight, one of the jastices of the King's Bench, 1693.
Serjeant TREMAIN, 1693.
Richard Wallop, Esq. bencher and cursitor baron of the Exchequer, 1697.
Mr. Serjeant CarTHIEU, 1704.
EDWARD, lord Thurlow, formerly lord high chancellor, 1806.
* The being represented cross-legged is not always a proof of the de. ceased having had the merit either of being a Crusader, or of having made a pilgrimage to the Holy Sepulchre, if two modern instances, mentioned by Pennant, of persons who died in the seventeenth century, and are thus represented at the church of Mitton, in Yorkshire, may be admitted as a contradiction of the common received opinion. This, how. ever, they scarcely can, as it was the opinion of Stow, Camden, and other writers, who lived long prior, and whose information must have been derived from authentic historical sources, or very remote tradition.
Herbert's Inns of Court.
The church-yard contains the relicts of the eminent Dr. GOLDSMITH.
The masters (or ministers) of the Temple, hold the living by patent from the crown; but they are such commonly as have the approbation of the benchers of both houses, because from them ariseth the greatest part of the income. MASTERS from the reign of queen Elizabeth:
WILLIAM ERMSTEAD, 1560. RICHARD ALVEY, B. D. 1560. Dr. Hooker, succeeded per patent, 1585. Dr. BAYLEY, he died 1591. Thomas Masters, B. D. Dr. PAUL MICKLETHWAIT. Dr. John LITTLETON, admitted 1638. Mr. Tombes, 1645. Mr. RICHARD JOHNSON, 1647. Dr. BROWNRIGG, bishop of Exeter, 1658. Dr. JOHN GAUDEN, afterwards bishop of Exeter, 1659. Dr. BALL, 1660. Dr. WILLIAM SHERLOCK, dean of St. Paul's, 1684. The rev. THOMAS SHERLOCK, A. M. 1706. Dr. THOMAS SHERLOCK, afterwards bishop of London.
Dr. RICHARD TERRICK, 1748, afterwards bishop of
Dr. THOMAS THURLOW, 1772, afterwards bishop of
New Court, Fountain (or Hall) Court, Garden Court, Essex Court, Brick Court, Middle Temple Lane, Elm Court, Pump (or Vine) Court, Lamb Buildings, and part of Churchyard Court.'
It is called Middle Temple, on account of its situation between the Outer Temple, which extended to Essex House, and the Inner Temple, on account of being nearest to the city, as before mentioned.
The principal officer of this house is the Treasurer, who is chosen from the benchers annually; he hath power to admit such as he thinks proper into the society, and to assign them their chambers; to receive the rent of those chambers, and all other money; and to dispose of it as he sees occasion, for the use of the house, and pay the salaries of servants, &c. *
Here are the same degrees of tables as in the. Inner Temple.; one for the benchers, and two for the barristers and students. They cut their meat on wooden trenchers, and drink out of green earthen pots:
The officers of the house are, the treasurer, under trea. surer, steward, chief butler, chief cook, three under butlers, pannier-man, gardener, under cook, two porters, and two washpots. · All that have chambers are obliged to pay for their commons, for a fortnight in every term; or if they come not they commonly compound for half; and twenty-eight terms (doing their exercise) qualifies for the bar, which when any one is called to he is obliged to pay two years commons, although he never was in commons.
The principal building is. The Hall, the foundation of which was laid in 1562, and the whole completed within ten years, during the treasureship of Edmund Plowden, Esq. The curious carved screen was put up in 1574, which
as paid for by a contribution of twenty shillings from each bencher; ten shillings each from the barristers; and six shillings and eight-pence from every other member.
* By the old custorn of the house all those admitted are to be perşonally present at the two first grapd vacations in Lent, and also in şummer; and the two first Christmasses after their coming.
Also that the students should propose and plead in law French some point of law, repeated and enlarged upon by an utter barrister, and the benchers to declare treir minds in English; and the students of the "house to sit together by threes, one of which proposing a case, the other two arguing thereupon; and he that propounded declared his opi. nion, and where the case may be found, &c. This has been usual çvery day (except festivals) for their improvement in the law.