« PreviousContinue »
placed the altar-piece, painted by Kent; and which, in 1725, occasioned a great ferment, in consequence of an order from bishop Gibson for its removal from the church, (where it had been put at considerable expence) on the supposition that it contained the portraits of the Pretender's wife and children. After having been removed, it was for many years an ornament to the coffee room at the Crown and Anchor tavern, whence it was transferred to the vestry room over the old almshouses at the back of the church, where it remained till 1803, on the demolition of which it was ultimately removed to the present building.
From the church westward, the avenues form three streets, of which Wych STREET contains
NEW INN. It is an inn of Chancery, and the only one remaining to the Middle Temple. This society removed from Sea-coal Lane, to be nearer to the other inns of court and chancery.
This was, before their removal bither, a common hostery or inn, known by the sign of the Blessed Virgin, and was procured from Sir John Fineux, some time lord chief jus. tice of England, about the year 1185, for the rent of 6l. per annuin. The society are tenants at will.
New Inn may, boast the honour of haring educated the great Sir Thomas More, who for some time studied here previous to his entering himself of Lincoln's Inn, of which he was afterwards a reader. And here the students of Strand Inn, as being also under the same government of the Temple, removed on the destruction of their house by the protector Somerset.
This society is governed by a treasurer and twelve antients; the members to be in commons one week in every Term, or pay if not there.
The west end of Wych Street was formerly ornamented by DRURY House, built by Sir William Drury, an able commander in the Irish wars in the reign of queen Elizabeth, and who unfortunately fell in a duel with Sir John Bo. roughs, tbrough a foolish quarrel about precedency. During the time of the fatal discontents of Elizabeth's fayovrite, the
tari of Essex, it was the place where his imprudent ad.
& Craven, afterwards earl Craven, who rebuilt it. It was ftate, lately a large brick pile, concealed by other buildings, and 0.4 was a public house, bearing the sign of the queen of Boo hemia’s Head, the earl's admired mistress, whose battles he fought, animated by love and duty. When he could aspire at her hand, he is supposed to have succeeded ; and it is said they were privately married; and that he built for her the fine seat at Hampstead Marshal, in the county of Berks, afterwards destroyed by fire. The services rendered by the earl to London, bis native city in particular, was exemplary. He was so indefatigable in preventing the ravages of the frequent fires of those days, that it was said his very horse smelt it out. He and Monk, duke of Albemarle, he. roically staid in town during the dreadful pestilence ; and, at the hazard of their lives, preserved order in the midst of the terrors of the time*. The house has lately been taken down, and the ground purchased by Mr. Philip Astley, of the Amphitheatre, Westminster Bridge, who has constructed a house of public exhibition in horsemanship and droll, which he has denominated “ The OLYMPIC Pavilion.” .
Adjoining to Wych Street, is HOLYWELL STREET, from the well of that name. It is a narrow, inconvenient avenue of old, ill-formed houses ; but contains a neglected place for law students, named
LYON'S INN. This is an appendage to the Inner Temple, and is known to be a place of considerable antiquity; entries having been made in the steward's books in the reign of Henry V.
• In Craven Buildings is a very good portrait of this hero, in are mour, with a truncheon in his hand, and mounted on his white horse : ¿ Dea to each side is an earl's and a baron's coronet, and the letters W.C. It is painted al fresco, and is at present in poor preservation, VOL. IV. No. 84.
The buildings at present exhibit marks of neglect and decay. Here is a hall, which is a handsome structure; but appropriated to different purposes than was at first intended.
The third line of streets westward of St. Clement's, is the STRAND; where, between Essex Street and Milford Lane, was antiently a chapel, dedicated to the Holy Ghost, but unknown by whom founded.
ARUNDEL STREET stands on the ground formerly occupied by the house and gardens of the bishops of Bath and Wells; called also Hampton Place. The episcopal residence was disposed of by Edward VI. to his, uncle lord Thomas Seymour, of Sudley, high admiral of England, and was called Seymour Place; in his possession it remained till his attainder*, when it was purchased of the erown by the earl of Arundel, together with several other messuages, lands, and tenements in this parish, for 411. 6s. 8d. Hence it was called Arundel Ilouse. The premises coming into the possession of the Howard family by marriage, it became the residence of the dukes of Norfolk ; and was at that time “ a large and old built house, with a spacious yard for stablings towards the Strand, and with a gate to inclose it, where there was the porter's lodge; and as large a garden towards the Thames.” It was after
" This,” says Pennant, " was one of the scenes of his indecent dalliance with the princess Elizabeth, afterwards queen. At first he certainly was net ill received, notwithstanding he had just espoused the anhappy Catharine Par. Ambition, not lust, actuated this wretched man: his designs on Elizabeth, and coosequently on the crown, spurred him on. The instrument of his design was Thomas Parryé, cofferer to the princess, to whom he offered, for her grace's accommodation, his House and all the furniture, during her stay in London. The queen's death, and her own suspicions on her deaih bed, gave just cause of the foulest surmises. His execution, which soon followed, put an end to his projects, and saved Elizabeth, and the nation, from a tyrant, possibly worse than him from whom they had, but a few years before, been reloased. The whole of his infamous conduct, respecting the unbappy queen dowager, &c. is fully detailed in Burleigh's State Papers, from R: 95 to 103.
wards appointed, as already mentioned, for the residence of the duke de Sully, who says that it was one of the finest' and most commodious of any in London, from its great number of apartments on the same floor. Mr. Thane's prints do not, however, give any advantageous idea of it; for though it covered much ground; the buildings were low and mean; but the views from the gardens were remarkably fine. Here was kept the magnificent collection of statues formed by Henry Howard, cart of Arandel; and howsoever faulty lord Clarendon may have represented him in some respects, his judgement in the fine arts will remain indisputable*. Norfolk House was pulled down in the seventeenth century; but the family name and titles are retained in the streets which rose on the site, viz. that of . Howard, Norfolk, Arundel, and Surrey. There was a design to build a mansion house for the family, out of the accumulated rents, on that part of the gardens which lay next to the river; and an act of parliament was obtained for the purpose, but the plan was never executed.
It was to Arundel House that the Royal Society removed from Gresham College after the fire of London, whither they were invited by Henry, duke of Norfolk, where they assembled till 1674, when they returned to the college, when Norfolk House was ordered to be pulled down. This duke bad presented his valuable library to the society +.
Between Arundel Street and Norfolk Street are two houses which are noticeable for the following circumstances :
Sir Thomas Lyttelton, member in various parliaments for Woodstock, Castle Rising, and Chichester, was in 1698 elected speaker of the House of Coininons, and lived next door to the father of bishop Burnet, in the parish of St. Clement Danes. It was here that Burnet and Sir Thomas spent much of their tiine; and it was the custom of the latter, whenever he had any great business to bring forward · in parliament, to discuss it previously with Burnet, who was to object every argument in his power. Sir Thomas was appointed treasurer of the navy, which he retained till * See under Castle Yard, ilolborn. + Pennant.
his death, in 1709. Burnet's house continued in the fa. mily within memory, when it was possessed by a bookseller of the same name, a collateral descendant from the bishop.
Westward of Arundel, Norfolk, and Surrey Streets, tas antiently the parish church, dedicated in memory of 6 the Nativity of Our Lady,” and “ the Innocents of the Strand;" it was also called, in consequence of the estabJishment of a religious brotherhood, “ St. Ursula of the Strand;" but usually written in old records, “ Ecclesia beatæ Mariæ at Strand, extra Barras Novi Templi, London.” This church was a rectory under the patronage of the bishops of Worcester, who had their town residence nearly adjoining; as had also the bishops of Coventry and Litchfield, Chester, and Llandaff.
In the year 1549 this church, with Strand Inn, and bridge, with the lane under it, the palaces of the various bishops, and all the adjoining tenements, were by command of Edward, duke of Somerset, uncle to Edward VI. and lord protector, levelled with the ground, and on the ruins rose SOMERSET House. • The duke had promised to remunerate the parish for the loss of their church, but never kept his word; so that they were obliged to resort to St. Clement's and the Savoy church till their own was rebuilt.
The bishop of Chester's mansion had been built upon land granted so far back as the year 1257.
Near it was CHESTER'S Inn, an antient house of chan. cery belonging to the Middle Temple, till its destruction by the Protector, when the students removed to New Inp.
Opposite the bishop of Coventry's inn, in the high street, stood a stone cross,“ whereof I read," says Stow, " that in the year 1294, and divers other times, the justices itinerant sat without London.”*
* The origin of the judges administering justice without cities, &c. is of very remote antiquity. This, with respect to the Jews, is evident from many passages of Scripture; particularly in Jeremiah, where it is said, that the propheç being condemned to die by the consistory of