Page images

board of directors of the Harry S. Truman Library Institute was held at the library on April 28, 1973. The meeting was preceded by an address by former Chief Justice Earl Warren. W. Averell Harriman presided, and Margaret Truman Daniel attended as a newly elected director of the institute board.

The Eleanor Roosevelt Institute has established the Eleanor Roosevelt Research Grants Program to make awards ranging from $200 to $1,000 to doctoral and postdoctoral candidates for projects based substantially on holdings of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library. Inquiries about the program should be addressed to the Secretary, Eleanor Roosevelt Institute, Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, NY 12538.

Postmaster General E. T. Klassen was the main speaker at a May 8 ceremony at the Truman Library to commemorate the eighty-ninth anniversary of President Truman's birth and the first day of issue of a new eight-cent stamp bearing his portrait.

A new exhibit at the Truman Library entitled “1948 Campaign” was opened on April 28 in conjunction with the Warren address. A new portrait of President Truman was unveiled May 7. The artist, Frank Szasz, presented the portrait to Margaret Daniel, who has loaned it to the library. On May 9 a plaque of the front page of the Chicago Tribune of November 3, 1948, containing the famous “Dewey Defeats

Truman" headline, was presented by Harold Grumhaus, chairman and chief executive officer of the Tribune, to Benedict K. Zobrist, director of the library.

The National Historical Publications Commission and the Center for Textual and Editorial Studies

Studies in Humanistic Sources, University of Virginia, will sponsor the third Institute for the Editing of Historical Documents at the University of Virginia, June 17-28, 1974. Editors of documentary publications and the staffs of both sponsoring institutions will instruct in all phases of documentary editing, and interns will complete special projects that provide opportunity to put theory into practice. Fifteen interns will be awarded scholarships covering tuition, travel, and lodging expenses. Candidates must hold at least the master's degree in American history or American civilization or must have equivalent education and experience. The deadline for applications is February 15, 1974; awards will be announced no later than March 15, 1974. For further information and application forms write to the Executive Director, National Historical Publications Commission, National Archives Building, Washington, DC 20408.

The Harry S. Truman Library Institute has published the first issue of Whistle Stop, a newsletter to report activities of the library and the institute. Each issue will feature an article relating to some program or event at the library or to an episode in the Truman story. Whistle Stop is distributed primarily to honorary fellows of the institute, donors and prospective donors of papers to the library, and researchers.

The Truman Library Institute has awarded twelve grants-in-aid since April 1973, including the $10,000 Tom L. Evans award to Alonzo L. Hamby of Ohio University for his research project on the structure of politics in post-World War II America, 1945-52.

At its meeting of May 1, 1973, the National Historical Publications Commission recommended grants to continue support for fourteen documentary letterpress publications. Five of the projects are supported by a Ford Foundation grant: the Adams papers at the Massachusetts Historical Society, the Benjamin Franklin papers at Yale University, the Alexander Hamilton papers at the Columbia University Press, the Thomas Jefferson papers at Princeton Uniand the Edward Lloyd family papers at the Maryland Historical Society.

versity, and the James Madison papers at the University of Virginia. The nine remaining projects are financed from appropriated funds: the John C. Calhoun papers at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History, the Henry Clay papers at the University of Kentucky, the Jefferson Davis papers at Rice University, the U. S. Grant papers at Southern Illinois University, the John Marshall papers at the College of William and Mary, the James K. Polk correspondence at Vanderbilt University, the Jonathan Trumbull, Sr., papers at the University of Connecticut, and the Booker T. Washington papers at the University of Maryland. The commission recommended a grant for a

new editorial project, the papers of Frederick Douglass at Yale University. A recommendation was also made to grant funds to support a study of the feasibility of microfilming the John Hope papers at Morehouse College. Attending his first meeting was the new executive director of the commission, E. Berkeley Tompkins, who assumed his duties on April 30, 1973.

Sara Dunlap Jackson of the commission staff has been appointed to the commission's advisory committee on the publication of the papers of black Americans.

Two microfilm publications completed and released in 1973 as part of the commission's program are the Washington Gladden papers at the Ohio Historical Society

On April 24, 1973, President Nixon named Archivist James B. Rhoads as acting chairman of the Interagency Classification Review Committee, which was established to assist the National Security Council in implementing Executive Order 11652 on classification and declassification. Rhoads succeeds Ambassador John Eisenhower, who held the position from May 17, 1972, until April 1, 1973. Rhoads has served with other members of the committee from the Departments of Justice, State, Defense, the Atomic Energy Commission, the Central Intelligence Agency, and the National Security Council staff since the committee was formed last May.

Ralph E. Ehrenberg has been appointed director of the Cartographic Archives Division. Frank B. Evans has been named assistant to the archivist, with primary responsibilities in the areas of academic liaison, international archival affairs, and archival training. Robert E. Lewis has been appointed director of the Executive Agencies Division, Office of the Federal Register. Robert E. Edelstein, director of the Philadelphia Federal Archives and Records Center, and Donald E. Ross, director of the Boston Federal Archives and Records Center, have retired.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Yearly subscription, $8.00; student subscription, $5.00, with student verification; Armed Forces subscription, $5.00; single copies, Vols. 1-XXVIII, $1.50, Vol. XXIX and following $2.40. Index to Vols. 1-XV (1944-1958), $6.15 (orders for Index payable to the Institute of Early American History and Culture).

All communications should be addressed to the Editor, The William and
Mary Quarterly, Box 220, Williamsburg, Virginia 23185.


Please send a gift subscription to PROLOGUE: The Journal of the National Archives to:

[blocks in formation]

Please send a gift subscription to PROLOGUE: The Journal of the National Archives to:

[blocks in formation]
[merged small][graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]
« PreviousContinue »