Page images





SAM H. CARTER, Secretary.
W. R. NABOURS, Chief Division of Estimates and Appropriations.
W. J. WOMACK, Chief Division of Auditing.
John W. BAILEY, Chief Division of Public Printing.
HASKELL SMITH, Chief Division of Public Buildings and Grounds.
W. R. HENDRICKSON, Building Inspector.

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

Report of State Board of Control.

To the Governor and the Legislature of the State of Texas:

The State Board of Control is a new department of the State Gorernment, having been created by Chapter 167 of the General Laws of the Regular Session of the Thirty-sixth Legislature, in 1919; and by amendment of Section 16 of said Act, same being Chapter 4, General Laws of the First Called Session of the Thirty-sixth Legislature, the Act became operative January 1, 1920. This report, therefore, covers the activities of this Board for the period of eight months ending with the fiscal year, August 31, 1920.

The Board is composed of three members, citizens of the State, who are State officers, appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. After the first membership, who were appointed for terms of two, four and six years, respectively, the members hold office for six years, the term of one member expiring every two years, thus composing the Board of a perpetuating membership. The members are subject to removal by the Governor for good cause, reasons for such removal to be specified in writing and filed with the Secretary of State.


Governor W. P. Hobby appointed as the first Board, S. B. Cowell, of Grayson County; L. W. Tittle, of Cherokee County, and A. R. Johnson, Jr., of Burnet County, who, after subscribing to the required oath of office and executing a bond in the sum of fifty thousand dollars each, as required by law, assumed their duties on January 1, 1920. Lots were cast for the six, four and two year terms, which were drawn according to the order in which the Board is named above, and the one first named was also elected by his colleagues as Chairman of the Board.


The Act creating the State Board of Control automatically abolished the offices of State Expert Printer; State Purchasing Agent; Superintendent of Public Buildings and Grounds; State Inspector of Masonry, Public Buildings and Works; State Board of Public Printing, and the board of managers of each of the eleemosynary institutions of this State, including the Texas School for the Blind, Texas School for the Deaf, the Deaf and Dumb and Blind Institute for Colored Youths, State Orphans Home, State Hospital for (rippled Children, State Juvenile Training School, the Girls' Training School, the Confederate Home, the Confederate Woman's Home, State Tuberculosis Sanatorium, the Home for Lepers, State Epileptic Colony, State Colony for the Feeble-Minded, State Lunatic Asylum, North Texas Hospital for the Insane, Southwestern Insane Asylum, and East Texas Hospital for the Insane, and the powers and duties appertaining to these various offices and boards were vested in the State Board of Control. Chapter 159, General Laws of the Regular Session of the Thirty-sixth Legislature, creating the State Home for Dependent and Neglected White Children, placed this.

« PreviousContinue »