Page images
PDF
EPUB

Mr. Bow. Who makes the selection as to the type of chairs and so forth?

Mr. STEWART. What we have done in the past is to take the head barber or the top two who work in the shop and get their recommendations as to what they require.

Mr. Bow. I would hope you would do that with this shop, too.

Mr. STEWART. I know that this took place in the Capitol Building. I think we will follow the same practice.

Mr. Bow. I would suggest you do that because I think they would have a great interest in that. They are very proud of their shop.

Mr. RIDGELL. We did that last year, Mr. Bow, in the New House Office Building. Mr. Bow. Off the record. (Discussion off the record.)

ACQUISITION OF PROPERTY, CONSTRUCTION AND EQTIPMENT,

ADDITIONAL HotsE OFFICE BUILDING

Program and financing

(In thousands of dollars]

1961 actual 1962 estimate 1963 estimate

[merged small][ocr errors]

Program by activities:
1. Acquisition of property, protection, maintenance, and

demolition of structures, and miscellaneous inci

dental expenses............ 2. Construction and equipment of an additional office

building for the House of Representatives... 3. Changes, alterations, and remodeling, Old House

Office Building........ 4. Changes, alterations, and remodeling, New House

Office Building....... 6. Subways and subway transportation systems... 6. Administration, miscellaneous, contingencies, land

scape treatment, and appurtenances.

Total obligations.... Financing:

Unobligated balance brought forward: Contract author

ization.
Unobligated balance carried forward: Contract author-

ization..
ization.... ..... ...... ...........................

New obligational authority (contract authorization).

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Mr. STEED. The first item we will take up this afternoon is acquisition of property, construction, and equipment, additional House Office Building, which is to be found at page 72 of the committee print and page 118 of the justifications.

Mr. Stewart, I note you ask for $8,500,000 in the budget this year. We have already appropriated $85,500,000, making a new total with this new appropriation of $94 million.

I note in the estimates that the obligations through next year may reach a total of $104 million, which would indicate we would have about $10 million more in appropriations after fiscal 1963 to fund all obligations through fiscal 1963.

We will insert the entire justifications.

(Pages 118 through 130 follow :) Contract authorization : Public Law 24, 84th Congress, “Additional House Office Building Act of

1955."
Amount of contract authorization: To be determined by the House Office

Building Commission.
Amount of contract authorization appropriated to date:
Second Supplemental Appropriation Act, 1955.

$5,000,000 Legislative Branch Appropriation Act, 1957-

10,000,000 Legislative Branch Appropriation Act, 1958.

7,500,000 Legislative Branch Appropriation Act, 1959.

22, 500,000 Legislative Branch Appropriation Act, 1960.

16,500,000 Legislative Branch Appropritaion Act, 1961.-

13,000,000 Supplemental Appropriation Act, 1961.----

5,000,000 Legislative Branch Appropriation Act, 1962_---

6,000,000

Total appropriated.

85,500,000 Appropriation requested in the budget for the fiscal year 1963_------ 8,500,000 Acquisition of property, construction and equipment, additional House Office

Building, $8,500,000 This project is authorized by the "Additional House Office Building Act of 1955," Public Law 24, 84th Congress, approved April 22, 1955. Under the provisions of the Authorization Act, the planning of the additional office building and other authorized changes and improvements and the determination of contract authorization are vested in he House Office Building Commission, consist

[ocr errors]

ing of Speaker McCormack, Representative Vinson of Georgia, and Representa-
tive Auchincloss of New Jersey.
The project is broken down into seven parts, as follows:

Acquisition of property as a site for an additional office building and for additions to the Capitol Grounds.

Construction and equipment of an additional office building.
Changes, alterations, and remodeling of the Old House Office Building.
Changes, alterations, and remodeling of the New House Office Building,

Construction and equipment of security vaults and other underground structures.

Subways and underground transportation systems.

Landscape development of five squares acquired for additional House
Office Building project.
Numerous meetings have been held by the House Office Building Commission
and various directives have been issued by the Commission to the Architect of
the Capitol,

The following is a report on accomplishments to date:
Jcquisition of property

All properties directed by the House Office Building Commission to be acquired for the additional House Office Building project have been purchased. The properties consist of five squares located immediately south and west of the present House Office Buildings, known as squares 635, south of 635, 637, 691 and 692, and two squares, located immediately east of the Old House Office Building, known as square 732. Title, in fee simple absolute, to these properties now vests in the United States of America.

Square 635 has been completely cleared of structures and is one of the two squares on which the additional House Office Building is being erected. The other square (square 636) was already owned by the Government and, prior to commencement of the project, was used as a parking area for Members' automobiles.

Square south of 635 has also been completely cleared of structures and is How used as a parking lot for automobiles.

Square 637 has been cleared of all structures except the General Outdoor Advertising Building, now used by the Architect of the Capitol as a field construction office.

Square 691 has been cleared of all structures except the George Washington Inn, which is now being used to provide temporary office and committee facilities for the House of Representatives. The remainder of the square is being used as a parking lot for automobiles.

Square 692 has been cleared of all structures except the Congressional Hotel, which is being operated under lease by the Knott Hotels Corp. The remainder of the square is being used as a parking lot for automobiles.

These five squares have been acquired, cleared of structures, and graded at a total cost of $7,967,406.

Square 732 consists of two squares, bounded on the north by Independence Avenue, SE., on the south by C Street SE., on the west by First Street SE.. and on the east by Second Street SE., with Carroll Street SE., lying between and forming the two squares.

Condemnation proceedings for acquisition of the properties in square 13 were filed by the Attorney General in the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia August 8, 1.960, at the request of the Architect of the Capitol acting under the direction of the House Office Building Commission.

Four appraisers were then employed by the Attorney General to appraise the properties in square 732. The appraisals were completed and reports submitted to the Attorney General and the Architect of the Capitol in December 1960.

The Architect of the Capitol, at the direction of the House Office Building Commission, filed a declaration of taking for title to the properties in square 732 in the l'.s. District Court for the District of Columbia December 21, 1960, and at that time deposited with the registry of the court a total of $4,832,700 as the estimated value of these properties, whereupon title to the properties became vested in the United States of America.

There are, in all, 117 parcels of property in square 732. To date, final settle ment prices have been effected with the owners of all but five parcels. All residential properties were vacated and possession of the same snrrendered in

the Government by October 1961. They are now being demolished under a contract let October 2, 1961.

By court order, all business and other nonresidential properties are to be vacated and possession of same surrendered to the Government by May 1, 1962. At that time, the Government will obtain possession of the entire site. Demolition of these properties will be proceeded with promptly. Associate architects and engineers for project

By direction of the House Office Building Commission, the following architects and engineers have been engaged, by personal service contracts, for the additional House Office Building project. Under the terms of their contracts, they are compensated on a fee basis, in accordance with rates established for such work by the American Institute of Architects.

Additional House Office Building.-John Harbeson, William J. Hough, Wm. H. Livingston, and Roy F. Larson, architects, of Philadelphia, Pa.

Changes, alterations, and remodeling work, Old House Office Building.Roscoe DeWitt and Fred L. Hardison, architects, of Dallas, Tex.

Changes, alterations, and remodeling work, New House Office Building.Alfred Easton Poor and Albert Homer Swanke, architects, of New York City.

Security vaults and other underground structures.-Jesse M. Shelton and Alan Stanford, of Robert & Co., Associates, Atlanta, Ga.

Subways and underground transportation systems.–Jesse M. Shelton and Alan G. Stanford, of Robert & Co., Associates, Atlanta, Ga.

Landscape development of five squares acquired for additional House Office Building project.-Robert Wheelwright and Joe W. Langran, land

scape architects, of Philadelphia, Pa. Construction and equipment of additional office building

The estimated cost of the new building, as approved by the Commission, to date, including sewer relocation cost, is $68 million.

As approved, the new building provides accommodations for 9 major standing committees and 15 subcommittees, 170 three-room office suites, storage facilities for Members, and other appurtenant and necessary facilities; also, parking accommodations for approximately 1,600 automobiles. The new building is being constructed on the two squares immediately west of the New House Office Building. These two squares have been combined into one square through the closing of Delaware Avenue.

Contracts were awarded in 1955 for engineering soils analyses and in 1956 for foundation test borings necessary to determine the proper foundation for the new building. Work under these contracts has been completed.

Contract was awarded December 21, 1956, to Gunnell Construction Co., for construction of a large sewer in square 635, on the site of the new building. This contract included part of the excavation and foundation work for the new building, as the new sewer is located beneath and constitutes a part of the new building structure. As the new sewer integrates with the city sewer system, it was necessary to install it in this location to provide proper drainage. Work under this contract has been completed at a cost of $1,392,805.

Contract was awarded, May 8, 1958, to McCloskey & Co., of Philadelphia, Pa., for excavation, excavation bracing, foundation piles and pile caps for the new building. Work under this contract was completed September 1, 1961, with the exception of a few minor items. The present amount of the contract is $8,721,374.

Contract was awarded, July 9, 1958, to the Bethlehem Steel Co. for furnishing, delivery, and erection of the structural steel for the new building. This part of the job was awarded as a separate contract in order to expedite construction work. Work under this contract is now complete, with the exception of a few minor items. The present amount of the contract is $7,087,388.

Contract was awarded, March 10, 1960, to McCloskey & Co. for the superstructure for the new building. Work under this contract is due for comple tion by August 1964. Occupancy of the new building is expected to commence prior to completion. The present amount of the contract is $51,099,025. Changes, alterations, and remodeling of the Old House Office Building

The estimated cost of changes, alterations, and remodeling of the Old House Office Building, as approved by the Commission, May 17, 1956, on the basis of preliminary plans and estimates of cost, is $9 million.

As approved, the old building is to be remodeled in such a manner as to provide 135 3-room office suites, 3 major standing committee rooms, 5 subcommittee rooms, and other miscellaneous appurtenant and necessary facilities, including an underground garage in the courtyard. To effect these improvements, major structural changes will be necessary; also, a general rearrangement of existing physical facilities and major changes to the plumbing and toilet systems; eleetrical and lighting systems; heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning systems; and elevator and other transportation facilities.

Contract was awarded to Kirk Lindsey, Inc., January 24, 1958, for construction of a 3-level garage in the courtyard of the old building, providing parking accommodations for 301 automobiles. Work under this contract has been completed at a cost of $1,326,255. The garage was occupied and placed in operation in June 1959.

Contract was awarded to the Corning Construction Co., February 7, 1962, in the amount of $298,480, for remodeling space in the old building, formerly occupied by the post office, into office accommodations for the disbursing office of the House of Representatives. The disbursing office will move from the Capitol to the Old House Office Building when their new quarters are completed.

Further remodeling work in the old building is being deferred by order of the Commission. Changes, alterations, and remodeling of the New House Office Building

The estimated cost of changes, alterations, and remodeling of the New House Office Building, as approved by the Commission, May 17, 1956, on the basis of preliminary plans and estimates of cost, is $9,500,000.

As approved, the New House Office Building is to be remodeled in such a manner as to provide 142 3-room office suites, 6 major standing committee rooms, 4 subcommittee rooms, fourteen 2-room office suites, and 16 odd rooms, and other miscellaneous appurtenant and necessary facilities, including a cafeteria building in the courtyard. To effect these improvements, major structural changes will be necessary; also, a general rearrangement of existing physical facilities, and major changes to the plumbing and toilet systems; electrical and lighting systems; heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning systems; and elevator and other transportation facilities.

Contract was awarded to Irons & Reyonlds, Inc., September 3, 1957, for construction of a one-story building in the courtyard of the New House Office Building, covering the entire courtyard, to serve as a cafeteria for the House, containing seating accommodations for approximately 575 persons. Work under this contract has been completed at a cost of $961,843. The new cafeteria was placed in service February 5, 1959.

An expenditure of $122,627 was made to convert the space in the New House Office Building, formerly occupied by the cafeteria and takeout bar, into new quarters for the House post office. The House post office moved from their old quarters in the Old House Office Building and their old quarters in the New House Office Building to their new quarters, April 1, 1961.

An expenditure of $81,496 was made to provide improved illumination and changes to the air-conditioning system necessitated thereby in room 1301, occupied by the Committee on Banking and Currency; room 1324, occupied by the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs; and room 1334, occupied by the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce.

An expenditure of $71,268 was made to convert part of the area formerly occupied by the folding room into a takeout bar and for relocation of the takeout bar from its former location in the space formerly occupied by the cafeteria to the newly renovated quarters; also, for related work in other areas necessitated by these changes.

Competitive bids are expected to be invited in April 1962 and a contract awarded by next May for construction of two pedestrian tunnels connecting the third House Office Building with the New and Old House Office Buildings. Construction work is expected to be carried forward during the period June 1962 to August 1963.

Further remodeling work in the New House Office Building is being deferred by order of the Commission.

« PreviousContinue »