Handbook of Psychophysiology

Front Cover
John T. Cacioppo, Louis G. Tassinary, Gary G. Berntson
Cambridge University Press, Dec 15, 2016 - Psychology
The Handbook of Psychophysiology has been the authoritative resource for more than a quarter of a century. Since the third edition was published a decade ago, the field of psychophysiological science has seen significant advances, both in traditional measures such as electroencephalography, event-related brain potentials, and cardiovascular assessments, and in novel approaches and methods in behavioural epigenetics, neuroimaging, psychoneuroimmunology, psychoneuroendocrinology, neuropsychology, behavioural genetics, connectivity analyses, and non-contact sensors. At the same time, a thoroughgoing interdisciplinary focus has emerged as essential to scientific progress. Emphasizing the need for multiple measures, careful experimental design, and logical inference, the fourth edition of the Handbook provides updated and expanded coverage of approaches, methods, and analyses in the field. With state-of-the-art reviews of research in topical areas such as stress, emotion, development, language, psychopathology, and behavioural medicine, the Handbook remains the essential reference for students and scientists in the behavioural, cognitive, and biological sciences.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

John Cacioppo is the Tiffany and Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor and Director of the Center for Cognitive and Social Neuroscience at the University of Chicago. Cacioppo is the author of more than 500 scientific articles and twenty books. Among the awards he has received are the Troland Award from the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), the Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions from the Society for Psychophysiological Research (SPR), the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award from the American Psychological Association (APA), the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award and the Scientific Impact Award from the Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SESP), and the Theoretical Innovation Prize from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology (SPSP). He is a former Editor of Psychophysiology and a past president of the Society for Psychophysiological Research.

Louis G. Tassinary is a Professor of Visualization, Executive Associate Dean in the College of Architecture and member of the Interdisciplinary Faculty of Neuroscience at Texas A & M University. He has published in a wide variety of journals including Psychological Science, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Proceedings of the Royal Society B, Preservation Law and Research, and Environment and Behavior. He is a recipient of a National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellowship and the Kadel Medal for Career Achievement, and a former secretary of the Society for Psychophysiological Research.

Gary G. Berntson is an Emeritus Academy Professor of Psychology at the Ohio State University. He has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles and has edited several books. He has served on numerous federal advisory committees (National Institutes of Health and National Science Foundation, as well as the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of Defence). He has served as a Board member, Secretary and then President of the Society for Psychophysiological Research. He was the recipient of Distinguished Teaching and Distinguished Scholar awards from the Ohio State University, and received the Paul D. MacLean Award for Outstanding Research in Neuroscience from the American Psychosomatic Society in 2013.

Bibliographic information