Terms of Court at Rockford Instead of Freeport in the Western District of Illinois: Hearing Before the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, Seventy-first Congress, Second Session, on H.R. 10415, May 2, 1930

Front Cover

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

Popular passages

Page 2 - Quincey on the first Mondays in March and September. The clerk of the court for the southern district shall maintain an office in charge of himself or a deputy at...
Page 2 - July, nineteen hundred and ten, in the counties of Alexander, Champaign, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland. Douglas, Edgar. Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Iroquois, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Kankakee, Lawrence, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Moultrie, Perry, Piatt, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, Saint Clair, Saline, Shelby, Union, Vermilion, Wabash, Washington.
Page 2 - The facts upon which this contention is made are as follows: The terms for the District Court of this Division are fixed by statute to be held on the first Mondays in February, March, April, May, June, July, September, October and November and the third Monday in December. 28 USCA § 152.
Page 2 - Winston, which shall constitute the eastern division of said district; also the territory embraced on the date last mentioned in the counties of...
Page 2 - Peoria. (2) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Adams, Bond, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, De Witt, Greene, Hancock, Jersey, Logan, McLean, Macaupin, Macón, Madison, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, and Scott.
Page 2 - The southern district shall include the territory embraced on the 1st day of July, 1910, in the counties of Bureau, Fulton, Henderson, Henry, Knox, Livingston, McDonough, Marshall, Mercer.
Page 2 - ... Illinois. Northern District (a) The Northern District comprises two divisions. (1) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Cook, De Kalb, Du Page, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, La Salle, McHenry, and Will. Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Chicago. (2) The Western Division comprises the counties of Boone, Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago. Court for the Western Division shall be held at Freeport.
Page 12 - HR 11414 was unanimously passed by the House and the Senate and signed by the President during the 2d session of the 85th Congress.
Page 11 - Cartwright, the committee will be glad to hear whatever statement you may desire to make in connection with the matter we have under consideration.
Page 8 - Johnson or the members of the committee desire to ask, I will be very glad to answer them. Mr.

Bibliographic information