Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 2: In Simplified Chinese & Pinyin

Front Cover

This book is the second volume of Romance of the Three Kingdoms translated from original text (traditional Chinese) into Simplified Chinese with Pinyin and comes with free audio files and English definition for all the words used in this book. The link and password to download the audio files are on the last page of the book. The Word List is in Volume 3.

Romance of the Three Kingdoms (simplified Chinese: 三国演义; pinyin: Sāngu Yǎny) is a 14th-century historical novel attributed to Luo Guanzhong. It is set in the turbulent years towards the end of the Han dynasty and the Three Kingdoms period in Chinese history, starting in 169 AD and ending with the reunification of the land in 280 AD.

The story – part historical, part legend, and part mythical – romanticises and dramatises the lives of feudal lords and their retainers, who tried to replace the dwindling Han dynasty or restore it. While the novel follows hundreds of characters, the focus is mainly on the three power blocs that emerged from the remnants of the Han dynasty, and would eventually form the three states of Cao Wei, Shu Han, and Eastern Wu. The novel deals with the plots, personal and military battles, intrigues, and struggles of these states to achieve dominance for a period of almost 100 years.

Romance of the Three Kingdoms is acclaimed as one of the Four Great Classical Novels of Chinese literature; it has a total of 800,000 words and nearly a thousand dramatic characters (mostly historical) in 120 chapters.

We have compiled the entire text into 3 volumes:

Volume 1 – Chapters 1 to 52

Volume 2 – Chapters 53 to 102

Volume 3 – Chapters 103 to 120 and Word List

For more information, please visit


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Common terms and phrases